Felicity 2013

By -Md Mubarak Bin Khaledfelicity1 Everyone on the campus was eagerly waiting for the 22nd of February and we dint have to wait long for it. You might be wondering what’s so special about 22nd Feb, well it’s the starting day of Felicity.

Felicity’ is the annual cultural and technical festival of International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad (IIIT-H). It is held in every February for three days.

There were so many events which took place and I wish I could have participated in all of them but I couldn’t. The events were classified into Threads (Technical), Cultural Colosseum, Literary Cafe, Kalakshetra and Zombie Zone.

Events in Thread started even before the start of the fest. Search Engine Optimization(SEO) started a month before where you’ve to create a blog and optimize it such that it will rank the best in all the major Search Engines. Other events like Code Craft , Time Limit Exceeded (TLE),Break In  witnessed huge and enthusiastic participation from all over the world.

When I stepped out of the hostel on 22nd I was surprised looking at the campus. The whole campus was decorated with the paintings of all the famous cartoon characters, my favorite was the painting of Naruto and the setup of Angry birds  at the entrance of our hostel.felicity2

The first event which started on 22nd was  Futsal(4 men football).  I was shocked to look at the number of teams that came to participate in this event. I think everyone who plays football in Hyderabad participated in Futsal. Rappelling started after a short while. Looking at people who were scared to come down the rope and their shouting and the expressions on their faces was fun.

IMG_6209

rappelling

Rappelling At Felicity 2013

While going for lunch I saw my classmates competing in the pot painting event, the painting that they made on the pots were wonderful. After that face painting even(Facade) was there. I wanted to participate in it but I could not get anyone to get their face painted by me. I came to the event after some time to see all the wonderful creative paintings on the faces. I could see faces painted like animals, gods and devils it was difficult to choose which one was the best.

After dinner I went to the felicity ground to watch the Inaugural performances by the students which included some role plays and dance performances but the most memorable moments on that day was the performance by Nitin Gupta (A.k.a Rivaldo) . Rivaldo got his message to the crowd the best way he can that is through humour. He addressed all the major problems of our country like corruption, black money, women security, extinction of Tigers, politics etc.

IMG_5641 IMG_5948

It was the day two of the fest and I was anticipating it to be good and it turned out that way. The day started with a speech by Jai Prakash  Narayan but the highlights of the days were Skate boarding workshop in which I participated and enjoyed a lot and the battle of rock bands which was amazing.  My friends participated in the Zombie zone events- Counter Strike, Dota and NFS but unfortunately nobody won in any of these events. By the end of day two I learned how to Skate after falling many times.

Skateboard workshop at Felicity 2013

Skateboard workshop at Felicity 2013

On the final day of the fest the anticipation was even more. There were events going on but I was busy learning the Skate Boarding. In the evening me with my friends participated in the Treasure hunt but we couldn’t find the treasure. After dinner I rushed to the Felicity ground and performances by the college bands had already started. The performances by the college bands were great but everyone was waiting for the main attraction of the night “The Paradigm Shift”. The performance by Paradigm Shift was Epic. Everyone in the ground were  jumping and dancing to their tunes specially for the “Roja” song which they played twice as per the audience request. The most awaited event  of the Felicity  was“War of the DJs” began shortly after “Paradigm Shift” . Everyone was tired after 3 long and exciting days but once the DJs started the music everyone in the ground went wild there seems to be so much energy in the ground that even people who don’t know how to dance started dancing not because of the music, it because they couldn’t resist themselves for dancing watching everyone dance.

This year’s Felicity has given me some of the most memorable moments in my life and I believe it’s the same for others who participated in Felicity.

Photos  Courtesy -Khalid Kareem Uddin